March 10, 201115 yr Active Members I got some spam for a quilting newsletter, spam that came to the address I use only for this site. I didn't want the quilting newsletter, so I hit the unsubscribe button, here is how I was greeted: Hi Cunt On this page, you can update your e-mail address, change the frequency of the newsletter or completely unsubscribe.
March 10, 201115 yr Active Members Which of us do you suspect of sending you that invitation? Of course, I don't know your private email address, so I plead not guilty. Isn't it common advice to refrain from using the unsubscribe "feature" which allows the sender to verify the email address? Just asking. Best regards, RA1
March 11, 201115 yr Author Active Members I suspect no one. After a while the email address gets on different lists. What I hate is that recently my niece sent everyone on her contact list an email...a group email. Now all of those hundred people are in my Gmail contacts...added automatically. So when I try to type a name, these names of people -I have no idea who they are- pop up as suggestions to shortcut my typing. I hate group emails. As for this one, I did not hit send once I saw that they didn't really give a shit about my desire to "unsubscribe." That, in itself, is an insult as I never subscribed to any of the multitude of junk mail I get.
March 11, 201115 yr As for this one, I did not hit send once I saw that they didn't really give a shit about my desire to "unsubscribe." That, in itself, is an insult as I never subscribed to any of the multitude of junk mail I get. Lucky never unsubscribe from a spam email. All it does is validate a "live" email address and chances are your email address will be traded or sold and your unsubscribe attempt ignored anyway. Everything I have read about dealing with spam shows that you should never unsubscribe or respond or click on any link in a spam email.
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.