TotallyOz

Qustion about dependents

I take reside meaning to be able to use all the facilities, etc. Those are not for guests but for residents that live in the condo only. It is a really nice new condo so I don't want issues as he is a dependent for sure. :)  And, he will reside there with me.

When questioning the definition of reside, I was thinking of exactly how many nights it takes before a visitor becomes a resident. 

More importantly, I don't think I like the "dependents" clause.   I'd either check it or get it amended to include "partners" as well, or something like that.

Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer.  Although I do read contracts and have had success in getting clauses amended.

• Members

The contract may only mean that you cannot sub-let an extra room, or cannot take in a rent paying room mate.

I agree that your Thai boyfriend is your dependent, but the leasing company may not see it that way.  Like z909, I would want to check before signing a lease.  

Also, will they require his ID to be on file, and his name on the lease as a condo resident?  And what happens if in the future you get a different boyfriend?  Does that require the lease office to be informed? 

Even a neighbor could create a problem for you in the future.  Better ask in advance to preclude possible issues.  I would specifically ask if an unmarried partner can reside there, and if so, get it written into your contract as z909 said.  

Thanks. I had them add the words spouse/partner in that section and they said no problem. I feel better about the lease now.